Avian botulism to blame for dead ducks south of Calgary
Several ducks have been found dead at a lake south of Calgary. Officials with Alberta Environment and Parks went out to Frank Lake, east of High River, on Thursday and found about ten dead ducks. It's possible more are in the water. Public Affairs Officer Lisa Glover says it's likely linked to avian botulism. "It's just a naturally-occurring bacteria that occurs in the soil," Glover told News Talk 770 on Friday afternoon. Glover says it's a lot like when you get food poisoning, and the bacteria...